Home » About Us » OBCG


Ontario Blood Consultation Group (OBCG) was formerly known as the Ontario Blood Advisory Committee (OBAC) and was established in 2006 to serve as a broad-based external advisory group to the Provincial Ministry of Health (MOH) Blood Programs Office on blood system issues. Membership is representative of the various regions in Ontario and multiple disciplines within transfusion medicine (i.e. Anesthesiology, Transfusion Specialists, Hematology, Laboratory Services, Nursing and Consumers).

OBCG is mandated to provide evidence-based advice, assist with prioritization of blood related issues and setting the strategic direction for the provincial blood program; and to recommend and support implementation of effective strategies to address issues. The MOH serves as the secretariat for OBCG.

Members include:

Hematology, Tertiary Transfusion Medicine Director, National Advisory Committee on Blood and Blood Products (NAC)Dr. Katerina Pavenski
Clinical Hematology, National Advisory Committee on Blood and Blood Products (NAC)Dr. Alan Tinmouth
Canadian Blood Services (CBS)Mr. Robert Romans
Senior Hospital AdministratorMr. Mark Hartman
AnesthesiologyDr. Daniel Bainbridge
Clinical Hematology, PediatricDr. Lani Lieberman
HematopathologyDr. Lois Shepherd
Critical CareDr. Bram Rochwerg
NursingMs. Donna Berta
PathologyDr. Allison Collins
Transfusion Specialist ManagerVacant
ONTraC Steering Committee & Nurse – Patient Blood ManagementMs. Laura McKenzie-Kerr
ONTraC, Hematology – Patient Blood ManagementDr. John Freedman
ONTraCMs. Alanna Howell
ORBCoN Regional Managers, Annual RotationMs. Wendy Owens, Mr. Troy Thompson, Ms. Denise Evanovitch
ORBCoN Sponsors, Annual RotationDr. Donnie Arnold, Dr. Antonio Giulivi, Dr. Jeannie Callum
MOH, ex officioMs. Vivian Leung
MOH, ex officioMr. Thomas Smith
MOH, ex offcioMs. Sophie Yang